These FAQs are designed to serve as a companion to the submissions document. They are incomprehensive and should not be considered as a final guide to submissions.

1. Are the awards open only to Indians?

The awards are open to all Indian citizens (regardless of country of residence) and those residing elsewhere holding a PIO/OCI card.

If the content is queer and if the areas covered about gender are related to sexuality and the LGBTQIA+ spectrum, then it does qualify for consideration. The jury’s decision, however, will be final and binding.

3. What are the various categories under which submissions can be made?


Fiction – this includes novels, graphic novels and collections of short stories (by a single author)
Non-Fiction – this includes memoirs, biographies, history and anything that doesn’t fall under Fiction




4. Are the awards only for material written and printed in English?

Yes, for both literature and journalism.

5. Will translations from another language into English be acceptable?

Translations (into English) will be accepted so long as the original content was written in an Indian language.

6. Till when will entries be accepted?

Entries for the awards will be open between May 18, 2023, and July 17, 2023.

7. In terms of publication dates, what period is under consideration, assessment or review?

There are two periods of work under consideration, dependent on the category entered for:
For the literature awards, works published between January 1, 2022, and May 31, 2023 will be considered.
For the journalism awards, works published between June 1, 2022, and May 31, 2023 will be considered.

8. Who can submit an entry?

For the literature awards:
Publishers may submit two entries under each category (i.e. two books for fiction; and two books for non-fiction).
Self-published authors may submit one entry, which must have an ISBN.

For the journalism awards:
Digital and print media organisations may submit two entries. (i.e. two articles per organisation, maximum).
Freelance journalists may submit two entries.
(Please note that digital platforms that are focused on platforming views/opinions also qualify as media organisations for the sake of these awards).

9. How do I make a submission?

Please consult our submissions process for the full details on making submissions for both the literature and journalism awards. The information is available on this website under the Process tab.

10. Who will read my submission?

A prestigious nine-member jury has been selected to consider submissions. More information on jury-members is available on our website and social media handles.

No patron, advisor, partner, or employee of the Dwijen Dinanath Arts Foundation (the non-profit that owns and runs the awards) or the Rainbow Lit Fest – Queer and Inclusive, will be part of the selection process.

11. When will the awards be announced?

The jury will release a longlist in mid- to late-November if deemed appropriate.
The shortlist will be announced by December 3rd.
The final winners will be announced in an award ceremony at the Rainbow Lit Fest – Queer & Inclusive in New Delhi on the 9th or 10th of December.

12. What is the prize for winning submissions?

Winners will receive both a citation and a cash prize.

13. I do not live in New Delhi, are there any provisions to allow me to attend the awards ceremony?

Winners will have to make their own arrangements.

14. How do I get in touch with the RALJ?

Our social media handles are as follows:

Instagram: @therainbowawards_
Twitter: @therainbowawards


The full details of the submission process and requirements are to be found on this website. These FAQs are not meant to be a final guide, and the full guide should be read carefully and fully before any submissions are made.

Design & Developed By Avignyata Inc.